Spring Salad!


Featured image

I love the colours and blossoms that spring begets. This salad is celebration of colours. A colourful and flavourful platter is always welcome.

Many times, when I visit these fancy downtown restaurants and order a vibrant looking dish-it turns out to be a disaster. Does it happen to you? Once my husband ordered this beautiful looking pricey salad expecting something really delightful. The vinaigrette seemed runny, salt was not known to the dish and the over load of cheese just ruined it.

I m not a fan of fancy items being wasted. Growing up in a higher middle class I never saw food being wasted at home. My Aai (mother) made optimum use of available ingredients. She taught me the importance of eating and valuing good food.

Featured image

So I dedicate this quicker, cheaper and healthier version of that pricey little salad. I call it “Spring Salad”.

Ingredients:

  • Sliced strawberries (7-8)
  • 2 Organic Persian cucumbers-sliced with skin on.
  • 1 gala apple (or any of your choice) chopped into chunks.
  • 1 Orange (any variety) wedges with/without skin-cut into chunks.
  • 3 tbsps. finely chopped cilantro.
  • 3 tbsps. finely chopped mint leaves.
  • Freshly squeezed lemon juice (2 medium sized lemons)
  • 1 tsp. orange and lemon zest.
  • 1 tsp rice vinegar.
  • Salt to taste.

 Method:

For Vinaigrette:

Mix lemon juice, vinegar, zest, mint and cilantro leaves with a spoon.

Featured image

 For the salad assembly:

Mix all the fruits and pour the vinaigrette over it. Add salt just before serving. The lemon juice reduces the speed of oxidation of apples, so they remain fresh.

Featured imageThis salad works well as a snack or a meal by itself. Simple and elegant. It works well for me because it keeps my tummy full but not overloaded. I do not drink so much water in its actual form. So the fruit quotient and lemon juice help me keep hydrated.Relish it with your kids,friends and family 🙂

Featured image

I avoid drinking any store bought juices and syrups. I rather have a cup of hot ginger tea (sorry I m a desi girl,cannot give up my adrak wali chai for anything). Thanks to the early tonsils the soft drink fad never touched me! How about you?

Share your story 🙂 For a good story makes memories and good food  enriches the love in it 🙂

2 thoughts on “Spring Salad!

Leave a Reply

