Thai spiced Foot-long


Featured image

One of my all time favorite restaurants in Bombay is a place called Oven Fresh. No visit to India is complete without a mandatory visit to this place. This place was so special that we (me and my friends) celebrated our sweet 16’s/18’s at this place!

They serve freshly baked pizzas, pastries and sizzlers. Baking their own bread wasn’t such a popular thing to do a decade ago in India.

Previously, they also served foot-longs! The concept of foot-longs in US is very different from the ones we ate at Oven fresh. Foot-longs at oven fresh were not a form of sandwich like here (@Subway). Instead, it’s a brioche served with pizza toppings but rectangular in shape and a feet long in size.

I like to zing up Monday dinners. So, instead of fighting the blues, we enjoy the hues!

Here’s my healthy tribute to the foot-longs from Oven Fresh!

Featured image

We love this red-curry sauce from Trader Joe’s. A hint of it really changes the geography of any boring dish. My son wanted to eat chicken and I wanted to add some Thai flavor to our meal this Monday. The red curry sauce and fresh Basil were perfect for a Thai twist to the foot-longs.

Featured image

 Ingredients:

  • 7-8 organic chicken tenders, washed. (Substitute chicken with paneer/tofu/bell peppers,mushrooms and jalapeno)
  • ½ cup finely chopped basil leaves.
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic smashed.
  • 1 tsp. soy sauce.
  • 1 tsp. rice vinegar.
  • 2 finely sliced onions.
  • ½ tomato chopped.
  • ½ cup cilantro finely chopped.
  • Olive oil (optional, I used it to spray on my brioche)
  • Cheese (Used it for my son, you can skip it. I did!)
  • chili sauce (optional, I used white peppercorn dust)
  • salt to taste.
  • Red curry sauce (2-3 tbsp)

Featured image

 Method:

  • Heat a wide mouth pan/wok and caramelize the onions. The onions have natural sugars and hence they caramelize on their own so we don’t need any oil here. Set them aside.
  • Add 1tsp olive oil in the same wok. Sauté the garlic and cilantro until aromatic.
  • Add the chicken tenders (or your vegetarian options) in the wok and toss them with the sautéed garlic-cilantro mix.

Featured image

  • Add soy sauce, vinegar and chili sauce (if at all) in it. I added a bit of water so the chicken cooks well. I am over cautious about cooking the meat through, uncooked chicken (pink chicken as they call it) could be fatal. The chicken cooks quickly (@10min or so). The true test to find out if the meat has cooked or not is to observe the change in colour from pink to white. The chicken tenders began to shred on their own, which is a good sign.

Featured image

  • Once the meat is cooked, I added the red curry sauce and allowed all the water to dry up. Add salt as per taste.
  • Add some spoons of basil and mix it well. Set the mixture aside.
  • Slice the brioche (a bread of your choice) and lay it on a flat pan. I sprayed the slices with olive oil. That helps them get crispier.
  • While on the flat pan, I began to assemble my foot-long on the brioche. The first layer was chicken, followed by the onions and tomatoes, topped with basil. I added cheese on my son’s brioche J

Featured image

It’s all set for dinner then! If you like to pair your favorite food with wine or cocktails, a spicy-non-fruity Riseling or a Cosmo works best with these foot-longs!

Featured image

But, if you are a non-drinker like me-chose an orange-ginger-chili Mocktail ! Bliss!

2 thoughts on “Thai spiced Foot-long

Leave a Reply

