Teatime: Conversations & Confessions with Indian Spice tea!


Which is your most favorite meal of the day? I would say none. Surprised?? Well, I am a Desi (Indian) girl who loves her Adrak-wali chai (Ginger tea), the spicier it is, better it tastes J To me teatime is the best time to unveil!

Featured image

I love waking up to a cup of Indian spice tea. Nothing beats that!

As a child my mother never let me drink tea. She was more scientific in her outlook and ensured that good amount of calcium and protein was consumed through dairy as well as nuts.

Featured image

Funny, but a common belief in India that we grew up with was if a girl drinks tea that would make her darker. I m sure like me, most of my Indian sisters grew up with similar funny tales from grandmas. The major concern being what if the girl turns darker and does not get a groom? Sad, but true! Shouldn’t we be equating a girl’s goodness of virtue and intelligence instead? The bias is slowly changing in the modern India. My nieces and nephews are not following the tradition blindly but with logic and reason.

Featured image

As I grew, it was pretty clear that it was nothing more than a myth. One look at me; you would be reassured of it (me being the darkest in my family!).

But, nothing stops me from drinking tea now (I m married) , nothing to fear right? 😛

Teatime (conversations,chats) gup-shapp and confessions are endless.I remember the conversations with my husband and best friend Rohan soon after marriage. We weren’t broke,but we did not have a car yet. I had fixed up a cover on blender box which made a centre table for us for few months. We sat their every evening after he came home to our little apartment in Sunnyvale. Things were so unoccupied then. But,even though it gets complicated with time,we love the clutter that our son brought in. We sit with mugs in our hands and never finish it 😛 We are too busy playing cricket or soccer with our son!

Since I have gotten every reader intrigued enough and wish to share my recipe for a great start to the day-An Indian spice tea!

 Ingredients: A spice mix for the tea (for 2-3 cups of tea)

  • 1 pod of green cardamom.
  • 1 tsp. of nutmeg powder.
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon powder.
  • 2-3. black peppercorns.
  • 1-2 cloves.
  • 3-4 strands of saffron.
  • 1 bay leaf.
  • 1 tsp. fennel seeds.
  • 1 tsp. chia seeds.
  • 1 tsp. flax seeds.

Method:

I use a coffee grinder to powder all the above ingredients together. It makes a fine powder and could be stored for a long time in airtight containers. I prefer storing all such spices in mason jars (glass jars) instead of plastic containers.

For the tea: (makes 2 cups of tea)

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups of water
  • 1-2 tsp. of the spice powder
  • Sugar as per taste. (I don’t have sugar /sugar free in my tea for last 18 years now. Not because of a medical condition but as a diet regimen.)
  • 1-2 tbsps. Freshly crushed and minced ginger.
  • 1 tsp. lemon grass / mint-finely chopped.
  • 2 tsps. Tea powder (I use Tetley tea bags. Just drop them in the boiling water).
  • ½ cup milk.

Method:

Boil the water and all the other ingredients (except milk and tea bags) together until aromatic in a pot. (I use a certain pot designated for tea.The spices and hard water leave a mark on the inner side of pot,so i don’t like to use it for anything else.Try to clean it well.) Then add the tea bags/tea powder and milk. Allow it to boil. If you are going to add sugar, add it now. The tea powder if over boiled gives a bitter taste. Since I don’t add sweetness into my tea, the bitterness hits the taste buds first. Hence very particular about it.

Switch the burner off and then sieve the tea. I use my prized teapot. This time I got this little teapot and milk glass from India. It’s a family heirloom. It was manufactured decades ago in our family kiln in Baroda, India. I feel my great grandfather never thought his great-great grandson to enjoy every bit of this teapot! It’s a precious and proud heirloom!

Featured image

Serve it hot with biscuits, English scones or just a loaf of soft brioche! It always tastes better when we are with friends and family chatting and confessing!

Featured image

Featured image

Featured image

Ahh , just sipping mine with all my virtual friends! How about you?

Btw, I have share this with here. A fellow blogger Dolphia Nandi-Arnstein has a beautiful blog called “StoryofCooks“. The pictures with steam popping out are inspired by her awesome tips on photographing the steam circles out of delicious food! All inspiring chefs,give it a read and master the art! Thanks for inspiring!!

5 thoughts on “Teatime: Conversations & Confessions with Indian Spice tea!

Leave a Reply

