Day 14,15 & 16


This was a long weekend in this part of the world celebrated as Memorial Day. Sharing a pic of Pearl Harbour as a salute to all the brave men in United States (this is celebrated for army but i dedicate it all brave men ).The Tuesdays are so boring after a long weekend (I know cannot agree more right? J).

Featured image

The house renovations- browsing and weighing materials as well as options (trust me, there is big bad world in the housing décor and improvements market, away from simplicity) consumed our logics on Sunday.But, this day was fruitful in terms that we could at least finalize our bathroom tiles (and saved some money!!) and on our way back had quintessential fight 😛 (me and Rohan obviously cannot do without that bickeringJ) that continued till late evening. Finally, Rohan and Udeet went out to play in the park. I got some time to think. Decided to whip up a chicken cilantro pesto tikka and paneer pesto tikka for dinner. Both the appetizers were a hit with the boys.

But over all Sunday was good. I walked a lot in the hardware stores that’s the happy part about shopping. Started the day early and was able to survive without my fruit breakfast but ate 2 small chapatis and ½ an egg from yesterday’s curry. But, I felt full. In the evening again, my diet was in control. Since it was just appetizers dinner with just spraying of olive oil sparingly on the tikkas. High protein meal!!!

I probably should eat all the chicken for lunch though. We had dinner at 7.30 but I still need to make a change in the long run. Was tired after the shopping spree at hardware stores, so just dosed off at 11pm!

 Do other parents crash like us?? We always think that some couples around are so energetic and always on the go that we seem so lazy in comparison. But any pointers as to how to be enthusiastic all day (& night) long running around kids? Hats off to the mothers and fathers who can manage kids (not just one but two at a time) and yet attend all hobby classes, parties and be the heart of social circle. I really mean every word of it. Makes me feel hopeful that someday we (me and my husband) would be as good as the rest.

Monday I decided to stay indoors during the day. Had 3 machine loads of laundry waiting for me to be folded. So, while the father and son went out hiking at Don Edwards Wildlife Refuge with cousin Sam; I took care of the cooking and cleaning :P.

As Rohan and Udeet came home, I was ready with Veg Jalfrezie & freshly made rotis. Udeet was really hungry and ate well. I took the liberty of eating some carbs and ate a roti with loads of sabji along with it (low calorie, low oil recipe to be shared soon). And we napped for a while. Just like good old days in childhood when Sundays were meant for eating special meals and sleeping!! Miss those days really. We lived such an uncomplicated life. I wonder sometimes if we really keep things simple, wouldn’t this world be a better place? Eat, sleep, study, play, repeat!! I m sure most of us will get into a city long queue to buy this bargain at thanksgiving J

Anyway, back to present. We decided to have dinner at Boudin.The streets around the Pier were unoccupied-almost felt some apocalyptic incident had taken place. The serenity was such a picture. Missed carrying my camera. And my son had zonked all the storage on phone by clicking a million images of himself (just the teeth/tongue/nose pics :P)!!

Featured image

We had been home for all meals (like good kids) for last three days, so we deserved a break for sure! Ahh, that lovely chowder is a hearty meal in itself. I adore it.

However, growing up in a country with poverty line rising head above heels-the soup bowl seems like total wastage of good bread. I would enjoy it equally with a loaf of bread served by side. Have you thought about it as well?

I don’t like to waste food in general. At buffets too, I show restraint. Seen so many people waste food at social functions that often I have an urge to walk up to people and tell them about the wastage of food and the need of conservation. But, haven’t gathered the courage yet. The poverty and hunger are not just restricted to my country (India) but we see homeless knocking on car windows at intersections even in US now. If we decide to conserve our fancies, may be we could provide well. These thoughts kept hitting me on way back to the bay from the Pier.

I rather prefer conservation to donation. Both ways help in restoration of those who might die unfed. I m working towards it, are you?

With such thoughts on mind I had a restless sleep. Woke up in the morning with a call from my Aai (my mother). Nothing serious, just the usual call we have for 15 minutes each day. Quickly finished the call and ablutions.

Featured image

Today is an historic day for many of my H4 visa spouses who spent years and hours waiting for their turn to make it big. Finally the day has come for all of you! The wait is over and the EAD is matter of few weeks from now. But, your journey has just begun. My Baba (father) always said, “Dream real and work hard.” That’s a good mantra to be successful. Before all that, heartiest congratulations to all of my sisters who are free now to work, to profess vocation and earn their firsts!

I checked in my weight today thinking it might be a bad sight. To my delight, I had dropped another pound. I weigh 167lbs now! I am 17lbs away from my first target.

Regimen wise this was a great day. Had my tea,fruit and lunch on time. Had some left over dough of fenugreek parathas so ate 3 small parathas along with Udeet. Btw, we did start a fun activity today. We create sketches and make a story out of it. Udeet enjoyed the voice-over part of it the most. The activity involves colouring and sketching that kept him busy for 20-25 minutes. Now, those moms who have a pre-schooler would know 20-25 minutes of quiet mean so much more!! But, he did well. Planning to share a video of one of these stories that we made. I wish to educate him more on phonetics these days. He is making an attempt to guess the letter by the sound of any particular word (ga,ma,sa,ta,ro etc).I m happy that he is taking an interest in the process.

Tuesday was emotionally stressful though. I am an only child and hence make a genuine attempt to make honest connections with people around. The more I get involved with someone, the better chances get for me to be hurt in return.

Especially in the US, I have been told that relationships are material. But, I am unable to accept it. My husband often tells me to distract my involvement into people around. It’s hurtful when people you practically know for a substantial time turn insensitive towards you and suddenly begin to avoid you or follow disconnect! In a world full of people, I feel lonely at times. The bewildering part is that people don’t want to share and resolve. This gets an awkwardness and I don’t really know ways to handle it.

Featured image

Featured image

Unaware of what went wrong in a relationship, I keep blaming myself so many times. Is it just me or does it strum a cord in you as well? Hard to believe, but I am straightforward and non-manipulative. Perhaps because of that politics is not my cup of tea and makes me very vulnerable. Have you felt the same ever?

Well, with a boy running and bouncing around me-I have no time to churn such thoughts for long. Most of my blogging time in afternoon was consumed by the depressing and pensive mood. So, it was a busy evening-dinner, walk and cleaning up.

But as I try to put myself to sleep, thoughts just encircle my heart and brain. My logical mind wants a solution on such a problem. Can I ever see a clear world ever?

May be not. May be never. It’s time for me to change. That has to happen someday, be it the start today.

Looking for some solace in these words by L.M Montgomery J;

Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?” 

3 thoughts on “Day 14,15 & 16

  1. First of all, kudos to you for keeping up with your regime even over a holiday!!
    With regards to relationships, I used to feel the same way as you, especially when persons I cared about seemed to drift away. but then one day I cam across this poem, which seemed to put it all into perspective

    **People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime.

    When you figure out which one it is,
    you will know what to do for each person.

    When someone is in your life for a REASON,
    it is usually to meet a need you have expressed.
    They have come to assist you through a difficulty;
    to provide you with guidance and support;
    to aid you physically, emotionally or spiritually.
    They may seem like a godsend, and they are.
    They are there for the reason you need them to be.

    Then, without any wrongdoing on your part or at an inconvenient time,
    this person will say or do something to bring the relationship to an end.
    Sometimes they die. Sometimes they walk away.
    Sometimes they act up and force you to take a stand.
    What we must realize is that our need has been met, our desire fulfilled; their work is done.
    The prayer you sent up has been answered and now it is time to move on.

    Some people come into your life for a SEASON,
    because your turn has come to share, grow or learn.
    They bring you an experience of peace or make you laugh.
    They may teach you something you have never done.
    They usually give you an unbelievable amount of joy.
    Believe it. It is real. But only for a season.

    LIFETIME relationships teach you lifetime lessons;
    things you must build upon in order to have a solid emotional foundation.
    Your job is to accept the lesson, love the person,
    and put what you have learned to use in all other relationships and areas of your life.
    It is said that love is blind but friendship is clairvoyant.**

    After reading this multiple times, I realize that my entire approach to relationships has started to change. I am now on a journey of learning to approach each connection I make — whether good or bad or even downright ugly, short or long, happy or sad, young or old, male or female — with immense gratitude! As they say, it is the sum total of all your experiences, feelings and choices, that makes you what you are today. So I feel that every life that we touch or are touched by, whether positively or not, should be viewed as a blessing and something to cherish. 🙂

    I’ll wrap up now…..sorry for hijacking your comment section 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol Janki 🙂 But,lovely poem and I loved the way you have expressed it in your words.I see a fellow blogger here 🙂 I m so looking forward to board on the learning route! you are simply awesome! thanks a bunch! the words do inspire a lot! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

