Vegan Shammi Kabab with Pear Chutney


Featured image

Groomed to be an architect and classically trained by my father, so my work ethic and value system is pretty much old school. At college, my peers disciplined my understanding of dynamic aesthetics, ergonomics, balance and art. Even though not practicing the profession I was trained for the nuances still remain and enchant my fancies often. And totally attracts me to people and places of artistic imagination as well as value.

Featured image

I love my food to taste as well as it looks and vice-a-versa J. In the artistic world the shades of red stand for love and romance. So, this Valentine’s day (and our 6th meeting and wedding anniversary, story to be discussed later J). I made these Vegan Shammi Kababs for my bestie Rohan (also my husband :P)-healthy and lite!

It’s again a very simple, on the go recipe!

 Ingredients:

Featured image

  • 1 whole bunch of green onion, washed and finely chopped.
  • 1 medium sized red onion.( I grew up eating red onions and my husband ate white ones. So, we decided to use dish specific onions. We carry red and whites both :P).
  • 1 boiled beetroot-shredded.
  • 1 Cup chopped cilantro.
  • ½ packet of organic tofu-crushed.
  • Salt to taste.
  • Garam masala (all spice powder) as per taste.
  • 2 tsps. Cilantro powder.
  • 1 tsp. cumin seeds.
  • 1 green chili chopped (optional).
  • 1 tsp. Carom seeds (ajwain).
  • 1tsp finely chopped garlic.
  • 3-4 tbsps. bread crumbs
  • Olive oil spray to shallow roast.
  • 1-2 slices of bread-broken into pieces.

Featured image

Method:

  • Mix crushed tofu, shredded beetroot, green onion, cilantro along with all the spices and chili.
  • Add salt, garlic and bread in the above mixture.
  • Mix and make small balls, flatten them to make a patty.(I made cylinders instead, but it’s your choice totally).Set aside in the freeze for 3-4 minutes.
  • After few minutes, take the kababs out of freeze. Dip each cylinder or patty into the breading.
  • Heat a flat plan and spray some oil on it. Arrange the kababs on it.
  • Cook on each side until crisp.
  • Serve them with love to loved ones J

 They tasted well with my pear chutney but tomato sauce is perfect!

 Btw, wish to share an achievement in the family.. a little bragging 😛

Featured image

After coming to US, I met Sheetal, my husband’s cousin but a very good friend of mine. She came from an art background and we shared a lot in common including the love for Tom Cruise (what say Sheetal? J).

Featured image

But, the most striking of her was her talent to create artistic endeavors. She is a master of pottery, painting, stitching and yes cooking too! I’d take this opportunity to congratulate her on her venture On the fencewhereby she showcases all her artsy-work. Proud of you girl and everything that you do with so much perfection, finesse and pride!

Featured image

What more does one need? Great food, great company and a reason to celebrate J Party begins now!!

4 thoughts on “Vegan Shammi Kabab with Pear Chutney

Leave a Reply

