Closing in to a month: Day 28 & 29


As the moving date gets closer and closer, our days are getting busier by the day. Packing when is kid is around is so difficult, don’t you think?

Anyway, last two days could be better described as Summer-ized! Yes, the summers are already in CA. The area had already received a prolonged draught and cold wave so the summers might just get the heat burst as well. The sudden transitions hurt the routine a lot. More hunger and thirst pangs and yes added weight of electricity bills :P.

I wasn’t very hungry for last two days especially around the lunchtime (it’s the heat L). I decided to give some rest to my over-exerting tummy and ate simple Dal Khichdi (Lentils and rice cooked in a soupy style usually served as comfort food when ill J). However as the temperatures settled I was able to dine well. I m anyway a dinner loving person!

Since I skipped my 30 day ab challenge on Sunday, I decided to not have a rest day on Tuesday as per the schedule. This challenge is working out great personally. Takes 10-15 minutes of my time through the day and then I don’t have to feel guilty of inability to go for post lunch walk or evening strolls. It’s a must try if fixing up a regimen is an issue with you.

Have you heard about “Clean eating? I kind of believe in doing that at least once every month. No matter the organic stuff and products I consume, the body still finds ways to store junk in it. Fortunately, the only noticeable addiction I have is drinking ginger infused tea. Ice-creams and aerated drinks do not fancy me for last 32 years at least. Never took to liking them because of my tonsillitis issue as a child. Perhaps simplifying and making it friendlier to suit my likes, what say? I m working on it but any inputs are welcome!

We packed some stuff in the guest bedroom for the last two days. I have moved 9 times in my life! 2 times in Bombay (from Chembur to Shivaji Park to Mahim), 6 times within the bay are and once overseas :P. Many of our friends call us pros in moving and have suggested commencing a help centre for the same!!! As ridiculous as it sounds, the thought is quite intriguing!

The thought of a sense of belonging and a feeling of being at home (other than the parents home in India) finally seem to get more real now. As I sit in the middle of boxes packed memories, a poem written in circa 2008 (while dating Rohan) keeps my mind hydrated, daring to share it again J.

Featured image

 A Home Away From Home..

 A friend (was Rohan J) met me over a chat conversation on the internet,

To introduce to me a vision I was blinded with,

A view of a homesick toddler (at heart) wanting to revisit days of childhood,

Might it seem impossible to those who have forgotten to pause in the midst of utter madness!

 He requested in a humble yet persuasive tone,

“Build me a home, Build me a home”,

In the lush greens of motherly arms,

In the happy lap of the fields,

In the blooming smiles of buddies, 

Midst of swaying trees, dancing crops to the monsoon songs of my sisters swinging a heavenly flight!

Featured image

 A dwelling not merely,

A little deeper than that,

An enlightenment replicating my soul,

Hiding simplicity within its hearth with long and open courtyards,

A porch to nostalgia,

A garden essaying my childhood,

A comfort to the frames in the family room,

Tantalizer to the taste buds of low lying kitchen,

A tranquility for the soul in the neatly lined bedroom,

“Oh, dear builder, build me a home away from home!”

Featured image

 A mother in the disguise of subtility,

A father to humanity,

A brother to hospitality,

A sister to care and kindness,

A search so mythical,

A demand so selfish,

“Still, dear builder, build me a home..away from home”.

Featured image

A symbol of trust & a mirror to reality,

A shoulder to cry & lean on,

A shelter to cringe for,

A granny singing a lullaby to shut me away from the world’s demanding and illusive strings,

A maid who tamed my tantrums to the matured handsome advisory,

A home that holds, a home that straightens,

“Hey builder, build me a home, build me a home”.

I am sure there is a mixed bag of emotions associated with our life at some point of time about a sense of belonging. Finally, we have found a home! Hope all find theirs J too!

Featured image

I have lost half an lbs early this week! So I m happy!!

In the last two days I have walked quite a bit in all the leading hardware stores around the south bay J. Yesterday we were so late that I could only fix up Cilantro Theplas and onion salad for dinner! But, I still could have a happy healthy meal, low on calories and nutritious.

Constant blogging has gotten me nomination for awards (and a tough job of selecting blogs that inspired me truly! I am sorry to have disappointed so many of my blogger friends, but hope you understand) but my eye power has shot up as well, so visiting a doctor on Wednesday L. Keeping my fingers crossed J!

Too long right? I believe any health regimen is incomplete without the state d’optimization of our hearts and minds!

This week is going to be more about heart though my fitness routine continues.

One thought on “Closing in to a month: Day 28 & 29

  1. I hope your move went well 🙂 It is always bitter sweet, excited for new adventures but difficult to leave behind a life you so delicately build and grow to love…hope all is well my dear 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

